Understanding Digital Kids – A Day with Ian Jukes

I was fortunate to hear Ian Jukes speak at http://ncaistech.wikispaces.com/NCAISTECH2009. I have enjoyed listening to Ian and this time I also was able to talk with him after the conference for over an hour as part of NCAIS C.O.T. His handouts are available at his site.

I was very interested in his brain research and how it impacts our students. It is amazing to me that schools are not paying as much attention to this as needed.

He suggests the following remedies:
1. It is time for educators to catch up. I have heard for over 16 years the refrain of “I am just not good with technology”. Truth is you must be better then you think as what aspect of your life has not changed in the last 16 years? Still standing in line to deposit your paycheck or get cash?

2. Teachers Must Teach to the Whole Mind: If you have not read Daniel Pink’s A Whole New Mind.

Why should I list them here: Get his handout and read it as we all need to Understand Digital Kids. As Ian would say, taking notes while he is speaking is so 20th Century!

Technorati Tags: ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *