Power of Teachers

I have begun to share a link of the week with the Middle School faculty. Last week I shared http://images.google.com/hosted/life which showcases a lot of wonderful images from Life Magazine. I had planned to share Wolfram|Alpha this week but changed my mind after reading Meredith Stewart’s tweet. I read the news last week about EtherPad/AppJet being purchased. I had never used the product but had heard of it and new that folks loved it. Once again it is the back story that interests me and others it seems.

This is what I shared instead:

I had a different one selected for this week, but after following the link(s) and remembering all of the meetings I attended in the Lower School to discuss similar “children/learners” I thought this one would be a better choice. I teared up a bit as I wonder about my role in helping or hindering learners like Aaron. I do not believe making a bucket of money determines anything other then the size of a person’s bank account, however our society does reward innovation this way.

The technology that Aaron is behind may not make sense to you at this time, but it will to our students.

http://aaroniba.net/

For background information, go to this site: http://bengrey.com/blog/2009/12/the-best-about-me-page-youll-ever-see/

I do wonder why a person would post the psych evaluation. One answer that seems to make sense to me is because of the pain it caused and the energy it took to survive. I have read the book by Sir Ken Robinson and others that talk about teacher perceptions and power.

Technorati Tags: ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “Power of Teachers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *