iPad – The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, The Unknown – with apologies to Sergio Leone and cast

I have had my iPad for two weeks now so I think I can write a review that reflects where I see this device in an educational setting. In a nutshell – close but not there yet. Do not get me wrong, you can not pry it out of my hands, but there are some limitations that must be overcome.

The Good
Design, Touch, and Feel – This is a wonderful device for the eye, fingertip, and hand as it is easy to carry and use. Using the touch interface on this device is a little bit like magic. Check out LukeW’s wonderful resource for how to use the Touch UI. http://www.lukew.com/ff/entry.asp?1071

There are many apps that are outstanding examples of how this device is a different approach to a computer. This is not an exhaustive list, but one that represents my early use and the fact that my account is empty:)

  • The Elements which can be purchased as a book, or you can even use the web site http://periodictable.com/ On the iPad, there is the ability to rotate and look closely at examples of the element in nature or products.
  • The Weather Channel Max – Another well done app that takes full advantage of the screen and interface
  • NPR – Access to all stories and all stations with a few touches
  • Magic Piano – play differently and with others
  • Evernote – If you do not use this app, you are missing elegance and simplicity and is the only way I have found to get documents out of this device as easily as I should be able to get documents out of this device.

The Bad

  • Smudges on the screen make it look bad really fast. You do not want to eat while using this device
  • While the case is nice, the texture feels weird to me. I suppose it is less likely to slip, but I am not a big fan of it.
  • Not that many apps that I own have been updated to the iPad version or in a couple cases involved repurchasing them
  • The constant envy and gasps from people who see it and want to touch it

The Ugly

  • Document management is lousy and frankly a HUGE mess. Until this is solved, this device will not work in a school or at least in any way where a school deploys them for multiple students to use.
  • Google Documents do not work in the mobile Safari. Many companies are attempting to solve it, but there should be no reason to use an intermediary service.
  • The inability to use the Dock with the Case on the iPad – Really no one thought you might want to dock the iPad with a case that you sell on it. Can you say “Incredibly stupid design and I want a refund”
  • iPhone apps look pretty bad but are useable even when upscaled.

The Unknown

  • Textbook publisher have not provided samples of what they will be like so unless we can remove the 30+ pounds of books from the backpacks of students with a highly interactive, annotation capabilities, and a strong pricing structure we just do not know
  • Management tools for school wide deployment and configuration. iPhone Configuration Utility works – barely

Technorati Tags: ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *