10 Questions for Jimmy Wales of Wikipedia

Time magazine gave readers a chance to ask him 10 questions. I thought his answers were relevant to our use of Wikipedia here at school.

“How can I persuade my teachers to allow me to use Wikipedia as a legitimate research source?” Kaitlyn G, Medina OH asked. Jimmy’s answer may surprise many but here it is: ” I would agree with you teachers that that isn’t the right way to use Wikipedia. The site is a wonderful starting point for research. But it is only a starting point because there’s always the chance that there;s something wrong, and you should check your sources if you are writing a paper.”

I was really glad to see him express this since I feel that Wikipedia is a great resource to use but should not be the only source used nor should it be used instead of our online subscriptions.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *