NCETC Conference Thoughts

I am attending the NCETC conference in Greensboro, NC where I have took a half-day workshop on Lego Mindstorms NXT. Kristie Brown showed us how to use Robo Educator so we could program the robots. I think we need to bring the instruction of Robotics back to DA in the Middle and Upper School. Her web site can be a great help to get started. RoboCup and Lego League are two competitions that students can participate in.

David Wagner gave wonderful presentation on Pixie which is a drawing and writing software that I am looking at to replace AppleWorks in the Lower School. I won a free copy of the software since there were only two of us in attendance.

I am now in a presentation from a Professor from UNC-Charlotte who is talking about how to integrate Course Management Systems into a K-12 setting. He is using Moodle as he finds it much easier to use then the commercial options.

I met Michael Silverstein from CDW-G in the vendor area. What a nice surprise since I have spent much money with CDW-G but never had met him.

There remains much to see today and tomorrow. I will keep you posted on what I learn.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *