New School Year – New Connection to Blog

I have been working to get back in the swing of the school year. I enjoyed my summer off and offline existence. Quite a change from my digital life at work. I could not connect to my blog for sometime using Ecto which is how I write my blog rather then online. Today, it worked so here I am. I even opened Twitter to discover old PLN friends tweeting away.

What has me excited for this year?

iPod Touch Cart
I am getting ready to deploy a cart of iPod Touches for use in classrooms. I have been working on setting them up so they connect to our wireless, have the apps on them I want our students to interact with and figuring out how to be legal with the purchasing of multiple copies of apps. Apple does not make it simple to do this purchasing.

Cart

Voicethread
Voicethread has gotten much of my time as we have it now for our students. I am getting ready to roll it out with students next week. I am very excited to deploy this learning tool as I see a lot of potential in all curriculum areas. The fact it can be embedded into our Moodle courses make it a natural extension.

Here is one done by students at 5th grade students at The Linsly School done with Melissa Tredenick who I know from our time together in North Carolina. Our students read the same book so I am hoping to share between our students.

Direct Link
http://voicethread.ning.com/video/5th-grade-summer-reading

Yabla
Working with a few Foreign Language teachers to integrate this resource into their Moodle courses.
http://www.yabla.com/
Moodle
The cart or container for all things we do here at school. WDIDBM (What did I do before Moodle?) – Less
I am happy to see this report on Blended Learning Environments
http://www.guide2digitallearning.com/professional_development/meta_research_k_12_online_learning_turns_little_research

Technorati Tags:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *